PAPERS Resources

AAR Annual Meeting
San Diego, CA
November 23-26, 2019

To return to the Welcome Page, please click here.

For questions or support, email support@aarweb.org.

To return to the AAR website, click here.

Hinduism Unit

Statement of Purpose: 

This Unit was established in 1997 with the mission of providing a forum within the AAR for the academic study of Hinduism as a distinctive world religious tradition including, but not limited to the geographical region of South Asia. The Unit seeks to foster research on all periods and registers of Hindu texts and practices through the presentation of new data, critical analysis, and interpretative strategies, based on textual, sociohistorical, ethnographic, philosophical, theological, and theoretical studies. We are particularly interested in forging connections between the study of Hinduism and other areas of religious studies, and we welcome proposals from scholars in the field that can provide such connections.

Call for Papers: 

The Hinduism Unit invites contributions on the following topics suggested at the 2018 Annual Meeting as well as on other topics consistent with the Unit’s Statement of Purpose. Proposals of complete papers sessions and roundtable sessions are especially welcome, as are proposals that specify creative and efficient uses of the ninety-minute sessions that likely will make up most of the Unit’s programming for the 2019 Annual Meeting. For further information about potential sessions on the topics already suggested, please e-mail the topic suggesters listed below:

● Class and Caste across Rural and Urban Areas, Jenn Ortegren, jortegren@middlebury.edu

● Contemporary Law Creating Hinduism, Deepak Sarma, deepak.sarma@case.edu

● Hindu bioethics, Deepak Sarma, deepak.sarma@case.edu

● Hindu/Buddhist Interactions with Regard to Avatāra, Joel Bordeaux, bordeauxjoel@gmail.com

● Hinduism and Carbon, Vijaya Nagarajan, nagarajan@usfca.edu

● Hinduism and Codes of Comportment, Joel Bordeaux, bordeauxjoel@gmail.com

● Hinduism and Economy, Deonnie Moodie, dmoodie@ou.edu

● Hinduism and Food, Finnian Gerety, finnian_moore-gerety@brown.edu

● Hinduism and Public and Private Spaces, Vijaya Nagarajan, nagarajan@usfca.edu

● Hinduism and the New Materialism, Nancy Martin, nmartin@chapman.edu

● How to Teach Hinduism with and through Translation, Archana Venkatesan, avenkatesan@ucdavis.edu

● Ideological Diversity in Hinduism, Shubha Pathak, pathak@american.edu

● Modern Applications of Ahiṃsā, Easan Katir, easan@hafsite.org

● Modern Hindu Responses to Natural Sciences, Abhi Ghosh, ghoshab@gvsu.edu

● Pre-Modern Hindu Feminisms, Michael Slouber, Michael.Slouber@wwu.edu

● Recognized Re-Incarnations in Hinduism, Joel Bordeaux, bordeauxjoel@gmail.com

● Southeast Asian Influences on Hinduism, Michael Slouber, Michael.Slouber@wwu.edu

● The Roles and Works of Translation in the Study of Hinduism, Archana Venkatesan, avenkatesan@ucdavis.edu

● The Visual and Art-Historical Aspects of Temples and Temple Hinduism, Archana Venkatesan, avenkatesan@ucdavis.edu

● Thinking of Oneself as Atman, Easan Katir, easan@hafsite.org

● Understanding Temple Worship: The Hindu’s Personal Relationship with God, Easan Katir, easan@hafsite.org

● Women and Modern Cultures of Work, Karen Pechilis, kpechili@drew.edu

Method: 
PAPERS
Process: 
Proposer names are visible to chairs but anonymous to steering committee members
Leadership: 
ChairSteering Committee