PAPERS Resources

AAR Annual Meeting
Denver, CO
November 17-20, 2018

To return to the Welcome Page, please click here.

For questions or support, email support@aarweb.org.

To return to the AAR website, click here.

Hinduism Unit

Statement of Purpose: 

This Unit was established in 1997 with the mission of providing a forum within the AAR for the academic study of Hinduism as a distinctive world religious tradition including, but not limited to the geographical region of South Asia. The Unit seeks to foster research on all periods and registers of Hindu texts and practices through the presentation of new data, critical analysis, and interpretative strategies, based on textual, sociohistorical, ethnographic, philosophical, theological, and theoretical studies. We are particularly interested in forging connections between the study of Hinduism and other areas of religious studies, and we welcome proposals from scholars in the field that can provide such connections.

Call for Papers: 

Narrative and Mahabharata – Raj Balkaran (raj.balkaran@gmail.com)
Pedagogy - Raj Balkaran (raj.balkaran@gmail.com)
Hinduism & politics – John Nemec (jwn3y@cms.mail.virginia.edu)
Continuities and Discontinuities in Hinduism Premodern and Modern – John Nemec (jwn3y@cms.mail.virginia.edu)
Hinduism and Religious experience – June McDaniel (McdanielJ@cofc.edu)
Comparative Hagiology - Patton Burchett (peburchett@wm.edu)
Dance as Metaphor and Practice: religion & the arts, body – Miranda Shaw (mshaw@richmond.edu)
Robert Orsi – Hinduism response to History & Presence - Nancy Martin (nancy2martin@earthlink.net)
Hinduism as a Minority Religion (peburchett@wm.edu)
Hinduism and K-12 Education (pathak@american.edu)
Hinduism and Sexualities -- - Jessica Vantine-Birkenholtz (jvanbirk@illinois.edu)
Hinduism as Force for Change: Applying Indigenous Categories – Peter Gottschalk (pgottschalk@wesleyan.edu)
Imagining Others in Hindu Literature - Shubha Pathak (pathak@american.edu)
Hindu Humor - Shubha Pathak (pathak@american.edu)
Can you be Proud to be a Hindu without being Hindutva? Asha Shipman (asha.shipman@yale.edu)
Ethics of Violence (peburchett@wm.edu)

Method: 
PAPERS
Process: 
Proposer names are visible to chairs but anonymous to steering committee members
Leadership: 
ChairSteering Committee