PAPERS Resources

AAR Annual Meeting
Denver, CO
November 17-20, 2018

To return to the Welcome Page, please click here.

Program Book (PDF)
Annual Meeting Venue Floorplans (PDF)
Annual Meeting Exhibit Hall (PDF)
Program Book Advertisements (PDF)

For questions or support, email

To return to the AAR website, click here.

Latina/o Religion, Culture, and Society Unit and Liberation Theologies Unit and Practical Theology Unit

Call for Papers: 

Community Organizing: Theologies, Practices, Liberation

We welcome papers and panel proposals for a co-sponsored session critically exploring the theologies embedded in practices of and calls for liberation in community organizing worldwide. We welcome critical engagements not only from scholars, but also from community activists and social organizers in both faith-rooted and not faith-rooted organizations. Topics may include studies of organizations fighting climate change, racisms, Islamophobia, anti-Semitism, xenophobia, restrictive immigration policies, sexisms, labor injustices, voter suppression, land ownership, the re-emergence of white supremacist power, gentrification, religious conflict, and more. We particularly welcome proposals seeking to explicitly engage these struggles building power networks across identity lines (interfaith, interracial, transnational, etc). The Liberation Theologies Unit encourages crossover dialogue — between contexts, between disciplines, and between religions – and reflection on the implications of liberationist discourse for the transformation of theology, both its methods and substance. We welcome proposals arising out of or engaging all religious or ritual traditions including, but certainly not limited to: indigenous religions, Hinduism, Judaism, Islam, Christianity, traditional African religions, and Buddhism. We encourage broad interpretation of the terms of the call and creative, constructive proposals for liberation theologies in the 21st century.

Proposer names are visible to chairs but anonymous to steering committee members
ChairSteering Committee