You are here

Society of Christian Philosophers

Call for Proposals

The Society of Christian Philosophers is soliciting papers for one of its two sessions at the 2020 Annual Meeting. Although we are happy to consider papers in any area of Christian philosophy, for next year we are especially interested in putting together a panel on one of the following topics: the hiddenness of God, religious experience, children and philosophy of religion, social ontology and philosophy of religion, or psychology and theology and philosophy of religion.

Statement of Purpose

The Society of Christian Philosophers was organized in 1978 to promote fellowship among Christian Philosophers and to stimulate study and discussion of issues which arise from their Christian and philosophical commitments. One of its chief aims is to go beyond the usual philosophy of religion sessions at the American Philosophical Association and to stimulate thinking about the nature and role of Christian commitment in philosophy. Informal discussion among several Christian philosophers led them to believe that it was possible to form a group designed to promote philosophizing and fellowship among philosophers who shared a commitment to Christianity. Past Presidents include William Alston, Robert Merrihew Adams, Alvin Plantinga, Marilyn McCord Adams, George Mavrodes, Nicholas Wolterstorff, Eleonore Stump, C. Stephen Evans, Robert Audi, Peter van Inwagen, and Michael Rea. Michael Bergmann of Purdue University is the current President of the SCP, and Christina Van Dyke of Calvin College is the Executive Director. The Society is open to anyone interested in philosophy who considers herself or himself a Christian. Membership is not restricted to any particular "school" of philosophy or to any branch of Christianity, nor to professional philosophers. For more information, visit



E-mail without Attachment (proposal appears in body of e-mail)
E-mail with Attachment (proposal is in attachment, not in body of e-mail)

Review Process

Proposer names are visible to chairs and steering committee members at all times